You Got to Be Kidding Me!

Any Idiot Can Have a Kid…

Posted in Addison, Social Life, Travel by Stacy McMahon on March 23, 2007

I know, because I’m an idiot and I had a kid.

First, why I’m an idiot. Vicky and I are joining other friends for some spring skiing in Vail next week, flying out Sunday. Because I’ve been distracted as hell, I started thinking my flight was tomorrow (Saturday) instead. I rushed around this evening packing, forcing my poor girlfriend to watch lame TV shows alone while I washed dishes and ran two loads of laundry. Her night did have one good point when we dropped off the house keys with Sarah and Ed. They invited her to attend their Battlestar season finale party in place of me Sunday night. She’s a closet sci fi fan and I know she’ll love getting her geek on.

Anyway, after all that I go to check the hotel info and find emails referencing the Sunday arrival. Uh oh, which day is my flight, really? I thought I was coordinated with Vicky. And I am — on Sunday. Which reminds me I need to cancel the cab that’s going to show up here at 6:30 am.

Second, if you pay enough attention to this blog to have noticed how I said the post about life’s strange twists and turns was a teaser of sorts, here’s your reward. As of three and a half weeks ago, I am the proud father of a beautiful, healthy baby girl. Addison Grace was born on February 28, the best late birthday gift ever. She is 9 lbs 15 oz (extrapolating from Wednesday’s weigh-in) of perfection. But who wants to listen to me make noise. Have yourselves some pics:

2007-03-17-addison-meets-parents-004-1.jpg

2007-03-17-addison-meets-parents-002-1.jpg

For those of you more personally in the loop, you probably realize it’s taking me some courage to post here. I’m doing it now because: I want to document Addie’s early life and my reactions, because as her mother says, “she is my gorgeous daughter and I love her; everything else is just details”, because waiting much longer would have risked stealing Christina’s spotlight 🙂 and because this is the only hard post. From now on I’m just another proud dad asshat who thinks their kid is the greatest thing since sliced bread.

And hey, it’s not as if I don’t know this will be the first really interesting category I’ve added!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. News of Note « TGAW said, on March 23, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    […] can read a bit about Stacy and Melanie’s daughter, Addison Grace, on his blog and you can see more pictures of her on his Flickr […]

  2. Clint said, on March 24, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Crazy, man! Congratulations.. Your DNA’s purpose has been fulfilled. 🙂

  3. Christina said, on March 27, 2007 at 8:10 am

    Whoa! I didn’t even know you were expecting a kid! CONGRATS!!!! That’s so awesome!

  4. Angel (you know, who used to tell things to! ;) ) said, on April 2, 2007 at 10:33 am

    Man, I am so out of the loop. Anyway, congratulations and you’ll have to fill me in sometime!


Leave a Reply

