You Got to Be Kidding Me!

Quoth The Raven

Posted in Books by Stacy McMahon on March 19, 2007

My parents were in town all weekend, which was fun since they live in New Hampshire and I don’t get to see them all that often. Mom keeps in touch with some friends down here who were parents of my high school classmates, and one of them apparantly mentioned the book What Really Happened to the Class of ’93: Start-ups, Dropouts, and Other Navigations Through an Untidy Decade (the reader reviews are interesting and several are from my former classmates.)

Mom asked if I was in the book. I said I’d never read it and didn’t know, but that the author had interviewed me by phone shortly before turning in his manuscript. I don’t remember what we talked about, but remember thinking none of it was likely interesting enough to make it into the book. Then today, by pure chance, this old post of Christina’s turned up in a Google alert for my name.

This is actually a book about my high school class. I’m not in it, but my friend Stacy McMahon is quoted several times! The book is okay, it profiles 16 of my former classmates. I didn’t really know most of the people profiled, and didn’t know any of them really well. I guess the two I spent the most time with are Sean Bryant, who committed suicide, and Tim Yerrington, who sadly is now HIV positive. The most surprising was that Matt Farbman is a tranny now. He was in a group that often overlapped with mine. I just remember him being really weird. I wish them all well anyway.

I remember Matt Farbman. An odd duck, sure, but I remember him seeming plenty interested in girls. To each their own, though. Tim was a nice guy, and while I wasn’t friends with Sean Bryant, I had a couple classes with him and I remember him being quiet and popular. In fact, he was a member of what passed for the “in-crowd” in our remarkably (but far from entirely) clique-free high school.

Anyway, I’ve had What Really Happened… on my wishlist for a long time, and since it seems to be out of print I just went ahead and ordered one of the last new copies. Chris Colin himself is as much an artifact of the 90s as any of us, having been a writer and editor at Salon.com during its salad days. I already know at least one of the main themes though — it’s something many of us recognized even before graduation, and all of us did soon after. We were told we were the future of the nation, that most of us would grow up to be leaders and all of us would do great things somewhere, somehow. The propaganda was merciless, but mercifully hyperbolic enough that it was hard to take seriously even at the time. Every kid thinks that way though; nobody says “I’m going to grow up to be completely average” and it’s always a shock at some point when you realize there’s a ceiling, and that it’s a low one. I think it was worse for some of my classmates, and that’s at least one reason I look forward to reading this book.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Clint said, on March 20, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    >but I remember him seeming plenty interested in girls

    He probably still is (though I am sure reading the book would answer this question for sure). Being a tranny is not an indicator of being gay…The two really have little to do with each other. That’s a stereotype…. Any FAQ on sexual fetishes will mention that most crossdressers are heterosexual. (I’ve read up about every possible sexual fetish — but “balloonatics” take the cake in my book as being one of the strangest…)

  2. Stacy McMahon said, on March 20, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    True, trannies aren’t necessarily gay. I guess what I was getting at is that that’s about the last thing I’d have thought he would be into. But what do any of us know? 🙂

  3. Clint said, on March 21, 2007 at 7:04 am

    Yea I kinda wish I knew who that Farb guy was was, because I’ve never known anyone in quite that situation….

  4. Christina said, on March 21, 2007 at 11:44 am

    I knew a lot of trannies at VCU. Most people wouldn’t think it, but Richmond has a huge gay/lesbian/transgender population. And I signed up for dorms late, so I ended up in the Art School dormatory.

    Weird, that’s the second time in a week that topic of “balloonatics” have been brought up around me. I learned this weekend that you can buy people-sized balloons that you can crawl into while wearing an oxygen tank. We decided that the people who like to step on bugs and rodents while wearing high-heeled shoes were the strangest.

  5. […] in Virginia Tech Massacre, Books at 7:14 am by Stacy McMahon I posted awhile back about What Really Happened to The Class of ‘93. I’ve finished reading it […]


Leave a Reply

