You Got to Be Kidding Me!

On Obama’s Election

Posted in 2008 Election by Stacy McMahon on November 5, 2008

I have a lot of thoughts, but just due to the sheer number of people talking and writing about the election none of them are original. In a nutshell, Barack Obama is my president, whether I voted for him or not. There will not – at least not here – be any “Obama Derangement Syndrome”. I think the Facebook comment exchange between myself and a friend says it fairly well:

L is content, but will always question authority…no matter who it is. 9:08am – 2 Comments

Stacy McMahon at 9:30am November 5 via Facebook Mobile
Me too – I am loving the final death of racism as a political force though 🙂

L at 10:55am November 5
As am I 🙂 As am I! I’m thrilled he won. I am. I mean…I *did* vote for him! I just don’t see him as a savior like others. That’s one of the things I couldn’t stand about all the Bushies out there.

Yep – enough of this personality cult stuff. What I and others have wanted for a long time now is a competent, reality-based President. I think we just might have that in Barack Obama. My favorite line from his victory speech (emphasis mine):

In this country, we rise or fall as one nation, as one people. Let’s resist the temptation to fall back on the same partisanship and pettiness and immaturity that has poisoned our politics for so long.

Exactly.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Matt said, on November 5, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    That is a good line. And I think you’re right, he might not be perfect, but we really have nowhere to go but up at this point. Now let’s just hope that a) he means what he says, and b) his words don’t fall on deaf ears, both within his own party and across the aisle.

  2. Christina G said, on November 7, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    I never saw him as a messiah or savior. I’m just happy the US has elected an intelligent leader. I expect he’ll have screw ups, but maybe they won’t be as bad as they could have been under McCain/Palin.


Leave a Reply

