You Got to Be Kidding Me!

Do You Watch Every Netflix Movie?

Posted in Entertainment, Sociology by Stacy McMahon on September 7, 2008

Ann Althouse, coining a nice new term, “regretflix“:

Netflix rentals that sit there for months. What were you thinking when you ordered them? That you’re the kind of person who watches movies like that? But you’re not so why did you get yourself into the situation where a little piece of plastic has invaded your house and taunts you for not being the person you think you should be? Or do you like to be reminded of your lofty aspirations… by objects in your house? There are many worse things you might have around than an unwatched copy of “Hotel Rwanda.”

I have often let a DVD sit on my TV table unwatched for weeks, because it arrived and I wasn’t in the mood to watch it, or because I watched ten minutes and couldn’t stand it. Either situation can make me feel pretty dumb, because often these are critically acclaimed and/or cult films that I kind of hate to admit I didn’t like. Then again, isn’t that just another form of conformism? Pop culture says that people like me should like Dark Star, so what does it say about me if I turn it off without even getting to the crazy conversation between the pilot and the smart bomb? It’s like I’m dumb if I don’t like it, and lame if I do!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dave said, on September 7, 2008 at 11:52 am

    I used to have the “unwatched Netflix DVDs sitting around forever” problem until I started using http://handbrake.fr/. Now I’ve got much more freedom to watch movies. But still, very many movies are still sitting around unwatched on my hard drive, taunting me in greater numbers!

  2. Clint said, on September 7, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    It’s very trivial to shift your movie to your hadrdrive and send it back the next day.

  3. Matt said, on September 7, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I’ve been known to leave movies from Netflix sit around gathering dust myself, including supposedly good films like The Sixth Sense, which everybody raves about to this day, but when I finally watched it after a solid MONTH at least, I couldn’t figure out what all the fuss had been about. On the other hand, as you and I have discussed before, there are movies I’ve rented that I just cannot sit through, like Ed Wood, which I removed from my DVD player after about 45 minutes, and that’s just one example out of many. So you’re not alone by any means. And as for liking something everybody else thinks is stupid/hating something everybody else thinks is great, I say, so what, no two people react to the same things in quite the same way every time. Hell, I like to think that you and I are a lot alike, but in some ways our tastes are very different. But we’re smart enough to know that that’s okay, because we don’t have to agree on everything.

  4. Stacy McMahon said, on September 7, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    http://www.pajamasmedia.com/instapundit/archives2/023980.php

    If you have the hard drive space – I don’t. I also don’t have time to watch everything I rent, DVR or find/get sent links on YouTube anyway.

    Which reminds me, for some odd reason, that Louise and I were saying this weekend that there needs to be a cable network that’s all trampoline accidents, all the time 😉

  5. Clint said, on September 8, 2008 at 10:31 am

    You don’t have 8 gigs? That’s like $2 of harddrive space.

  6. Dave said, on September 8, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    “Louise and I were saying this weekend that there needs to be a cable network that’s all trampoline accidents, all the time.”

    The movie Idiocracy shares your view, but with another kind of accident:


Leave a Reply

