You Got to Be Kidding Me!

Preschool Research

Posted in Addison, Education by Stacy McMahon on August 25, 2008

Interesting

In the last half-century, U.S. preschool attendance has gone up to nearly 70% from 16%. But fourth-grade reading, science, and math scores on the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) — the nation’s report card — have remained virtually stagnant since the early 1970s.

All I normally hear about preschool is the usual stories about rich idiots putting their newborns in years-long waiting lists for the most prestigious ones. I went to preschool and what I remember of it was more or less “glorified daycare”, as the article puts it. My parents taught me to read at home before kindergarten, and I was reading at 5th grade level in first grade. Dad used to talk me through math problems at bedtime.

I’m far from decided on how I feel about preschool for Addison, but my sense is that putting the tuition money in a college fund may be a smarter choice. Any other parents have thoughts?

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Clint said, on August 25, 2008 at 8:46 am

    Agreed. It’s a silly waste of money, especially if both parents don’t work. I could read before I entered kindergarten, and I never went to pre-school.

  2. Clint said, on August 25, 2008 at 8:47 am

    I mean, “especially if 1 parent doesn’t work”. If both parents don’t work, you got bigger problems 🙂

  3. Anne said, on August 27, 2008 at 9:55 am

    I go with the college fund. But in this time so many people need daycare that I guess preschool is just a better name to make it more expensive.


Leave a Reply

