You Got to Be Kidding Me!

A ’93 In The News

Posted in Books, Virginia Tech Massacre by Stacy McMahon on April 28, 2007

I posted awhile back about What Really Happened to The Class of ’93. I’ve finished reading it now and will have a review up at some point. In a nutshell though, I liked it. Chris, if you happen to read this, look me up next time you’re in town. If nothing else I owe you a beer for kindly leaving my name out of that one quote… 😀

Another of our classmates — someone I knew this time — was in the news recently and for a sadder reason (I thank Christina for the link, though it’s not on her blog) He was a friend of one of the Virginia Tech Massacre victims. I hate that name by the way, but much like “nine eleven” or the “war on terror”, that’s what the world has decided to call it. Anyway, The Boston Herald’s interview with my classmate Luke Sponholz is strangely reminiscent of Chris Colin’s interviews with some of my other high school classmates. It is [finally] the kind of tasteful remembrance that the media can give us on its better days; and very welcome after the great, garish display of instant analysis that inevitably follows this and other tragedies, becoming more widespread every year in spite of being universally hated. Anyway, go read it.

UPDATE: As Christina notes in the comments, she has now blogged the BH interview.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Christina said, on April 28, 2007 at 11:19 am

    It’s on my blog now. It just took me a little while to get my thoughts straight on what I wanted to say. 🙂

  2. tgaw said, on April 28, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    If it is any consolation, I’m not that fond of the term “Hokie Nation” that everyone seems to use nowadays.

  3. Christina said, on April 29, 2007 at 5:52 am

    Oh, and Chris emailed me a while back about my post on his book, so he’ll probably get around to reading your post sooner or later.


Leave a Reply

