You Got to Be Kidding Me!

Kurt Vonnegut has Died

Posted in Miscellaneous by Stacy McMahon on April 12, 2007

I’m sure Vicky will have a post up pretty soon. I was a never a great Vonnegut fan — not that I don’t like his work, I just haven’t read much of it. One quote in the CNN obit caught my attention though.

Some years ago, I remember Vicky saying she’d heard Vonnegut give a commencement address in which he made a remark along the lines of ‘I hope none of you young women is forced to drop out of life early by having children.’ Having always seen rugrats in her future, she took some offense to that. Turns out though that it may just have been a too-subtle expression of his famous wit:

Vonnegut, who had homes in Manhattan and the Hamptons in New York, adopted his sister’s three young children after she died. He also had three children of his own with his first wife, Ann Cox, and later adopted a daughter, Lily, with his second wife, the noted photographer Krementz.

[…]

“My father, like Hemingway, was a gun nut and was very unhappy late in life. But he was proud of not committing suicide. And I’ll do the same, so as not to set a bad example for my children.”

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Clint said, on April 12, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    I think this is the 6th time I’ve heard he’s dead now!

  2. tgaw said, on April 13, 2007 at 1:49 am

    I have no recollection of that incident, but I’ll roll with it.

    I had numerous people email me to tell me about his passing.


Leave a Reply

