You Got to Be Kidding Me!

The Wrong Side of The Road

Posted in DCinites, Snark by Stacy McMahon on February 27, 2007

I almost got taken out this afternoon by a vehicle that was definitely not where it should have been. I was doing what I often do on the way home from the office–driving eastbound on Pennsylvania Ave, trying to find someplace to legally make a left and a right to turn around and go west, towards the river. Because there was a lot of traffic, I got pushed past where I usually turn, and reached a spot I’ve only seen once before. In this spot, at this time of day, there is virtually never any oncoming traffic. The last time I came past it, traveling in the left lane, someone pulled out and passed me on the left …yes, in the oncoming lane.

Today when I finally located a good turning spot and put my signal on, guess what. Yep, some asshat pulls out on my left. I spotted him, said wtf and hit the brakes, and heard a scary-yet-satisfying sound of squealing tires from behind me. I finished my turn and went on my way without incident, but I have rarely been that angry at someone else on the road. Amused, blown away, smugly satisfied in my own superiority, yes. But angry–this is a first. I guess I have to just assume people will do something reckless and stupid like that, since that’s 100% of the times I’ve been in that spot and seen them do it.

..DC

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Clint said, on February 28, 2007 at 9:55 am

    Wow, I’m very angry at people’s shitty driving. I have a whole tag on my blog for it. I don’t think I’ve EVER gone to work without flicking SOMEbody off. And I frequently have to rewind 1 song because a whole song passes by and I don’t hear it because I’m thinking about the rage. Oh sweet rage. 🙂


Leave a Reply

