You Got to Be Kidding Me!

The Sky Is (Not) Falling!

Posted in Miscellaneous by Stacy McMahon on February 12, 2007

Was just over to the Giant to pick up a few items pre-snowstorm. Don’t laugh–my pantry is decently stocked, but I only had one chicken breast and about five pieces of bread, and I have a cold and was short on fruit juice and other things-besides-water to drink.

When I was around ten, we used to get a 2-3 snowstorms a year that would dump a foot or more–sometimes a lot more, and the county could and did take 2-3 days to plow all the suburban streets. In those days families really did need to stock up while the stocking was good, and I remember empty shelves and employees handing items directly out the doorway of the backroom. Now you still see some people loading down a cart with milk, cereal and soforth, but since the last heavy snow was years ago it’s mostly a quaint reminder of bygone times.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Clint said, on February 15, 2007 at 10:01 am

    I’ve always been astounded by this practice. As if the average person has less than 2 day food supply in their pantry. That would imply that the average person goes to the grocery store every 2 days, which simply isn’t true.

    The real answer? People don’t want to eat their beans and fruit cocktail and cereal. So they go apeshit. Having worked at a grocery store for 2.5 yrs, I was exposed firsthand to this “humans as rats” insanity before it ever even applied to me personall. (My parents never once went out pre-storm, they went grocery shopping every week or every 2 weeks so there was always at least a several day supply on any weekday.)

    It has always appauled me.

    I did enter a grocery store for the first time in 6 mos or so yesterday, because I was going to pick up fast food, but no fast food was between pt A (kaiser-permanente across from Springfield Mall) and pt B (my house) other than McDonalds.. so I got some chocolate yogurt, cabernet sauvignon, a rising crust pizza, bananas, chocolate mouse flavored yogurt, and bread for sandwiches.

    No toilet paper — They always buy toilet paper in that situation. It’s insane.


Leave a Reply

